Adjust font size: Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size

Board members

RDA - South West board members are all appointed by the Federal Minister for Regional Development. Members serve for two years and are selected from an EOI process.

David Trench MAICD - Chair

David has a history in oil and gas, energy and utilities generally, and is currently Executive General Manager Project Development for Lanco. He sits on the Chamber of Minerals and Energy Executive Council, and has a record of community involvement and service with the South West Development Commission as well as higher education. Having a strong military background, David is Deputy Chairman of the Australian Defense Reserves Support Council – WA.

Posy Barnes GAICD - Deputy Chair

Posy Barnes is Chief Executive Officer of Jobs South West Inc. in the South West of WA.  She has a strong background in management, public relations and marketing and has worked extensively throughout Western Australia and in London. Posy has a wealth of experience in employment and training matters.   She has an MBA, and has previously served as a Board Member on the South West Development Commission and as Chair of the South West Community Foundation.

Alison Comparti JP MAICD

Alison runs a business consultancy and is Chair of the SW Refuge, and Deputy Chair of Morrissey Homestead Inc. She is also serves on the Australian Medicare Local Alliance and SW Medicare Local Boards, is WA representative on the Health Consumers of Rural and Remote Australia board, the National Scholarship Board of Allied Health and Manea Senior College Board. A registered nurse, she has recently rejoined the Val Lishman Health Research Foundation and Silver Chain Advisory Boards. Alison previously served in local government and with the SWDC, Southern Province REDO and ECU Advisory Boards.



Matt Granger

CEO of the Bunbury Wellington Economic Alliance, Matt has previously worked with the Chamber of Minerals and Energy WA, the Victorian Department of Primary Industries, ABC Radio and served as a Federal Ministerial advisor. He serves as Chair of the board of the Manea Senior College, and sits on the Enable South West board, ECU SW Campus Advisory Board and the Bunbury Port Community Liaison Committee. Matt is also an active Rotarian.


Christine Kershaw  MAICD

Christine runs a small business consultancy and training business. Her original degree was in Environmental Science & Urban and Regional Planning. She sits as a Director for South West Catchments Council, a Natural Resource Management body, chairs its Finance Sub-Committee and sits on the Audit, Remuneration and Community Engagement and Knowledge Committees. She is a member of the Cape Naturaliste College Board. Her expertise is in Natural Resource Management, small business processes, hospitality and the wine Industry.

Amanda Lovitt

Amanda is President of the Kingston Country Women's Association, sits on the Leschenault District Health Advisory Council, and was appointed to the Women's Advisory Council. She is a certified Funeral Celebrant and the only West Australian member of the National professional organisation, as well as running a small business.  Amanda grew up in Fremantle, spent 23 years in the Goldfields, and has been in Australind for 5 years, along with her husband Mike and three teenage sons.



Ray Philp

Ray is current CEO of the Bunbury Chamber of Commerce and Industries and on the Executive committee of the Regional Chambers of Commerce and Industry.  He is a Past President and current member of the Rotary Club of South Bunbury.  Ray has a wealth of experience in the telecommunications environment and was the Area General Manager for Telstra Country Wide Southern WA 2000–2010. Ray has also consulted in telecommunications and business development.  

Fiona Skilbeck

Fiona runs the multi award-winning Bunbury City Glass with her husband, Don. She serves on the Bunbury Chamber of Commerce and Industry Executive and is on the Dolphin Discovery Centre Management Committee. Fiona was formerly a member of the SW Area Consultative Committee and has served as a Harvey Shire councillor among other community work. Last year she completed the Curtin Business School  'Growth Owner' program.

Ian Stubbs OAM

Ian is the inaugural Mayor of the newly proclaimed City of Busselton. He has had many years experience in local government mainly in senior executive positions. He served as CEO with the Shires of Dandaragan, Wyndham East Kimberley, Busselton and Toodyay and as a local government consultant. Ian has spent the past three years as Executive Officer Busselton Golf Club. He currently serves as Deputy Chairman of the South West Development Commission and Ian was awarded the OAM in 2014 for services to local government and the community . 


Charles Jenkinson JP AFAIM

Charles is the organisation's Executive Officer. He has an honours degree in applied social science, is qualified in regional development and has worked in the field since 2006, taking a new direction after more than 20 years as a journalist - 10 as an editor. Charles is an Associate Fellow in the Australian Institute of Management, is qualified in corporate governance and is completed a Masters in Planning and Environment. He is involved with the South West Aboriginal Workforce Development Advisory Group, SW Community Foundation and Manea Senior College Boards.